Documents
Documents
Wiki
Wiki
Discussion Forums
Discussions
Project Information
Project Info
Forum Topic - Remote debugging: (5 Items)

Remote debugging  
I want to debug application which is running on target. The application is build using jam based build system, so I 
don't have project which I can open in IDE. I haven't found the way to debug application using IDE if IDE wasn't used in
 build process (I'm sorry, if I am wrong, I'm new to the IDE, just let me know if I should try again). My idea was to 
use gdb server. I've build it under linux using cross compiler from QNX installation disk, but I can't connect to it for
 some reason. Could you share your experience concerning debugging without IDE.

Thanks in advance
Re: Remote debugging  
gdbserver built for linux won't help because qnx is not linux.

You can do standard "QNX Attach to Running Process" launch configuration.
* Create a fake makefile project, as location specify location of your 
project on disk (pre-built)
* Open Run->Debug Configurations...
* Select "QNX Attach to Running Process" debug configuration, press New 
button
* Select your binary, click Debug (If you have your shared libs set 
paths in Debug tab first).
* Select you process (that should match your binary) and click ok.
* It attaches in random place. Place continue to hit your breakpoints if 
you set any.

On 12-12-01 04:53 PM, Ivan Not specified wrote:
> I want to debug application which is running on target. The application is build using jam based build system, so I 
don't have project which I can open in IDE. I haven't found the way to debug application using IDE if IDE wasn't used in
 build process (I'm sorry, if I am wrong, I'm new to the IDE, just let me know if I should try again). My idea was to 
use gdb server. I've build it under linux using cross compiler from QNX installation disk, but I can't connect to it for
 some reason. Could you share your experience concerning debugging without IDE.
>
> Thanks in advance
>
>
>