Documents
Documents
Wiki
Wiki
Discussion Forums
Discussions
Project Information
Project Info
Forum Topic - Stream to external device over WiFi: (6 Items)

Stream to external device over WiFi  
Hello, I'm really new to QNX. I'm trying to figure out if and how it would be possible to stream media contents from QNX
 Car Platform to an external device over WiFi.

Any help or pointers are greatly appreciated.
RE: Stream to external device over WiFi  
Simon,

There are a few different possible meanings to this. Can you describe what you are hoping to achieve with a little more 
detail?

-- 
Ryan J. Allen
QNX Software Systems

Re: RE: Stream to external device over WiFi  
Hi Ryan,

thanks for your reply. Sure I'll try to describe my scenario a little bit better,  unfortunately I am not very familiar 
with the subject therefore I might be missing obvious things.

I am working on a project running on QNX Car Platform and I've been asked to assess the feasibility to stream (or more 
generally, display) media stored on USB keys / DVD disks connected to the unit on external devices connected to the unit
 via the WiFi access point exposed by the unit.

I'm trying to figure out what options are available and what would be a quick and cost-effective way to do that. I 
understand DLNA might be a viable option although I've been informed that developing a solution based on DLNA would be 
expensive due to licensing costs, so I'm looking at custom options like building a simple media server, capable for 
example of doing HTTP streaming. But again, I am probably missing many things here hence why I'm asking for advice.
RE: RE: Stream to external device over WiFi  
Hi Simon,

It isn't clear to me if you're just trying to access the media contents from the headunit on the external device, or if 
the expectation is that the headunit will "render" content to the external device. The former tends to be more