Documents
Documents
Wiki
Wiki
Discussion Forums
Discussions
Project Information
Project Info
Forum Topic - shm_open & mmap: (5 Items)

shm_open & mmap  
Hi everyone. 

I am a newbie in C programming and QNX. I am currently working on a project based on C programming in QNX and have met 
cross some problems. 

There are some existing executable programs compiled in QNX 6.3.2. Now the OS has been updated to QNX 6.4.0, and a few 
of the executable programs cannot run correctly. I checked the source code and found the problems probably occured when 
shm_open or mmap was called. The interesting thing is that shm_open is also called in other executable programs and they
 can work successfully. 

In the problem program, shm_open is called like:
" shm_descr = shm_open(CMD_INTERFACE_SHM_NAME,O_RDWR, S_IRWXU); "
And in the normal program, it's called like:
" fd = shm_open(devName,O_RDWR|O_CREAT,0); "

Does the flag's difference matter? Or the problem was caused by the update of QNX OS?

RE: shm_open & mmap  
Check the value of errno after shm_open fail, it should give you good idea of that is going on.

-----Message d'origine-----
De : Yuan Sun [mailto:community-noreply@qnx.com] 
Envoyé : 19 juillet 2010 13:29
À : ostech-core_os
Objet : shm_open & mmap

Hi everyone. 

I am a newbie in C programming and QNX. I am currently working on a project based on C programming in QNX and have met 
cross some problems. 

There are some existing executable programs compiled in QNX 6.3.2. Now the OS has been updated to QNX 6.4.0, and a few 
of the executable programs cannot run correctly. I checked the source code and found the problems probably occured when 
shm_open or mmap was called. The interesting thing is that shm_open is also called in other executable programs and they
 can work successfully. 

In the problem program, shm_open is called like:
" shm_descr = shm_open(CMD_INTERFACE_SHM_NAME,O_RDWR, S_IRWXU); "
And in the normal program, it's called like: