Wiki
Discussion Forums
Discussions
Project Information
Project Info
Forum Topic - Odd questions: (6 Items)

Odd questions  
Hi,

I am new to the QNX development and I can see that the requirements for Windows do not specify 2008 or Hyper V config as
 supported. Is it worth a shot in order to recognise all cores of multi-socket boxes?

Also playing with the Momentics I can see the highest footprint comes from deb-eide at around 41MB. Is it necessary and 
are there any pointers for setting up this with minimal footprint on x86..

Thanks in advance,
Mark
Re: Odd questions  
I've just seen from the docs that it is related to IDE/disk operation but it doubled with number of cores associated via
 VMWare.. The reason I went for VMWare is because the VPC does not support more than 1 CPU it seems (per target).

Thus the question on HyperV. 

It would still be interesting to learn how to minimise the footprint as I would love to test this against low memory 
hardware.. Any tips or (common numbers even) on reducing the Neutrino footprint appreciated. 

Thanks..
> I've just seen from the docs that it is related to IDE/disk operation but it 
> doubled with number of cores associated via VMWare.. The reason I went for 
> VMWare is because the VPC does not support more than 1 CPU it seems (per 
> target).
> 
> Thus the question on HyperV. 
> 
> It would still be interesting to learn how to minimise the footprint as I 
> would love to test this against low memory hardware.. Any tips or (common 
> numbers even) on reducing the Neutrino footprint appreciated. 
> 
> Thanks..

For your information, have been using QNX on ESX which support 4 cores per VM.  It's a bit painful to install because 
ESX only support scsi which is not part of the normal install CD. But it's doable.  We have a BIG machine running ESX, 
it currently runs 11 QNX6.4.0 VM, each having 4Gig and 4 cores allocated per VM.  There are use as targets to run our